Review: Michael J Sullivan – The Death of Dulgath (Riyria Chronicles#3)

Michael J Sullivan: The Death of Dulgath (Riyria Chronicles #3), audio book, narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds; audible studios, 13:57h, € 23, 58
Michael J Sullivan: The Death of Dulgath (Riyria Chronicles #3), audio book, narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds; audible studios, 13:57h, € 23, 58

 

I had intended to wait until shortly before the launch of the 4th sequel in the Riyria Chronicles before listening to this one, but then I felt I just had to return to Hadrian and Royce now.

I do love the Riyria series, and I love Tim Gerard Reynolds‘ narration. I enjoy the foreword, spoken by the author himself, too, giving us some information about what he’s doing etc. Michael truly seems to love interacting with his readers, and I appreciate that.

The story is another great one, humorous like the other Riyria stories, and giving us an ever clearer picture of Royce and Hadrian and the world they live in. I couldn’t help but rolling my eyes at Hadrian on occasions, wishing he would listen to Royce every now and again. But his naivety and his belief in the good in humanity is what makes Hadrian so lovable after all, and I wouldn’t want him any different.
If you’re curious about the series, do yourself a favour and start with the Riyria Revelations before moving on to the chronicles. It’s not because you couldn’t read each of the books on its own — you’d be perfectly able to follow the story and all without knowing any of the other books, but, at least for me, it just enhances the reading experience with the knowledge I have of all the other books — plus, they’re all really great.

Ein Gedanke zu “Review: Michael J Sullivan – The Death of Dulgath (Riyria Chronicles#3)

A Penny for your Thoughts

