Review: David A. Wells – Thinblade (Sovereign of the Seven Isles #1)

 

Thinblade (Sovereign of the Seven Isles Book 1) by [Wells, David A.]

This had been on my tbl list for more than six months now. I finally started listening to it, and I’m glad I did. I’m a fantasy buff, and it never ceases to amaze me, that with each fantasy book I read or listen to, there are always new ideas.
Well, OK, so the subject is nothing new: bad versus evil, but then you can’t reinvent the wheel.

The world building is nice, though, and the magic and how it is used is yet different from all I’ve read before.
Then there are the characters. A handful of people who set out to save their world.

I love Lucky the most, the alchemist mage, with his joyful nature, his amazing skills, his appreciation of good meals, and his never ending optimism.

The enemy, Phane, is driven, and I wonder whether he’ll be saved, or just defeated.
I have six more books to find out.

The narrator, Derek Perkins, is doing a great job,and it is a joy to listen.

A Penny for your Thoughts

