Review: Lisa B.Thomas: Sharpe Shooter (Maycroft Mystery #1) – Audio

Lisa B. Thomas: Sharpe Shooter, narrator: Madeline Mrozek, 5:18h, audible audio

Synopsis: When Deena Sharpe loses her job as a teacher, she intends to get back to being a journalist — but that isn’t as easy as she imagined. Luckily for her, a deputy discovers the body of a cold case, and it turns out that the murdered man is her long lost uncle. Her family asks her to find out what happened to her uncle 50 years ago, and so Deena sets out to solve the mystery. A well-known author has his own theory, but Deena isn’t happy with his suggestions. And so a race for the wanted outcome begins.

What I think:

Sharpe Shooter is the first sequel in the Maycroft Mystery Series, and the first cozy mystery novel by Lisa B. Thomas that I listened to.
Madeline Mrozek did a perfect job with the narration, and I absolutely enjoyed the story. The characters were convincing, as was the story. I liked the way our heroine, Deena Sharpe, went about solving this very (c)old case. I like the fact that there is a loving and caring family, even if not all family members see eye to eye.

I love the conspiracy theory which is thrown into the bargain by another party.
The story is well written, and I’m curious about the next case.
It’s a clean story with lots of twists and turns which kept my attention throughout.
I like a good mystery story, and this one easily compares to other good mysteries I listened to.
I received this audiobook at no-cost from Audiobookworm Promotions. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

A Penny for your Thoughts

